Gov’t honoring journalism awards

Generally I’m not one for commenting on local media and who did/didn’t do what or when.

And I appreciate it when my colleagues at other media outlets win awards for their reporting. Good journalism makes for good government, they say.

But I’m not sure I’ve ever seen this in the form of a resolution:

Consideration of a Resolution of the Commission of Knox County, Tennessee honoring local media for receiving journalism awards.
(Commissioner Broyles)

… think I said something unprintable upon reading that, but I kinda blacked out for a second. So the memory is a tad hazy.

Most anytime I have ever heard of elected officials recognizing local media it’s due to some kind of trouble said elected officials have caused for themselves that media have reported upon. But I’m not taking home any hardware this year, so it could just be sour grapes.*

*It’s not. Congrats to those out there who received recognition in regional and statewide competition.

About Gerald

A reporter in Knoxville, TN. Work (mostly) inside and play (mostly) outside. I'm a part of the X or the Y generation. None of us claim the other.
This entry was posted in Knox County, Neato/whimsy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

So what do you think?

